18 competitors took part in the inaugural Annual Village Road Race.

The first part of the course was up Mid Street to the High Street at Nutfield, and then Coopers Hill Road, Moats Lane, Mid Street, and back to the Station. The course was exactly 5 miles.

Ken Sheppard led all the way and was presented with the new Road Race cup by Gerry Gowling, the Station Hotel publican. Simon Crabb came second with Harry Owen and Robert Sporle in joint third.

Every competitor completed the course, although some were a long way behind the leaders, with your editor only spurred on to finish by Gerry's promise to give every competitor a bottle of Jubilee Strong Ale...